Skip to main content

Finalists announced for the 2011 APRA Professional Development Awards

1 Feb 2011

On March 14th, 2011, a new crop of eight up-and-coming Australian songwriters will get a huge leg-up courtesy of the APRA Professional Development Awards. The APRA Professional Development Awards are presented every two years in conjunction with music organisations and institutions involved in the representation or education of Australian music creators.

For the 2011 event, a record number of submissions were received by emerging Australian songwriters and composers who are in the early stages of their career. Now APRA and its partner organizations are proud to present an impressive finalist list of almost 250 Australian songwriters from across the country.

We were overwhelmed by the number of entries via Music Victoria from artists right across the state in all genres. Check out the finalists page on the APRA website for more information about the finalists.

Here are our lucky Victorian finalists:

Popular Contemporary (3 awards covering Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop, Dance and R&B)

  • Bich-Nghiem Findlay-Ngo
  • Boaz Modman
  • Bobby Flynn
  • C.W. Stoneking
  • Carly Van
  • Chaskiel Gawenda
  • Dallas Frasca
  • Daniel Simmons
  • Daniel Lee Kendall
  • El Witeri
  • Eva Popov
  • Ileana Price
  • Isaac de Heer
  • Jake Mason
  • Jane Hendry
  • Jarrad Brown
  • Jessica McAvoy
  • Jessica Paige Romig
  • Julie O’Hara
  • Kelvin Mustica
  • Lilith Lane
  • Ousmane Sonko
  • Peter Nigido
  • Richard Perso
  • Sarah-Jane Wentzki
  • Spencer Davids
  • Tobias Cummings
  • Tom Richardson
  • Tristan Ludowyk
  • Vida-Sunshine Borquaye
  • Zoe Randell


  • Bill Jackson
  • Jo Kelly Stephenson
  • John Flanagan
  • Julian Matthews
  • Kimberley Clemens
  • Kristy Cox
  • Lachlan Bryan
  • Steve Brown
  • Susan Jane Russell


  • Belinda Woods
  • Brian Wright
  • Christophe Genoux
  • John Milton
  • Nilusha Baeder
  • Peter Hawkes
  • Shannon Barnett
  • Barnett Stevens
  • Zoe Frater


  • Adam Starr
  • Alex Chudnovsky
  • Ashley Shoup
  • Dennis Vaughan
  • Edward Fairlie
  • Paul Norris
  • Rae Howell

Film & Television

  • Brett Aplin
  • Celestino Carl Mosca
  • Christian Dimarco
  • John Lee
  • Matt Davis
  • Matthew Ridgway
  • Simon McGuigan


  • Jacob Anderson
  • Jessie Lloyd

There are ten (10) awards up for grabs covering a range of music genres and styles. Each winner will receive a prize package valued at over $25,000 – made up of cash, travel, education and recognition.
Winners will be announced on 14th March 2011 at a ceremony in Sydney.

Congratulations and good luck to all the Victorian finalists!


Music Victoria is proudly supported by :