DonateJoin NowLog In
music victoria logo


Congratulations to all of the finalists and winners from last night's Australian Jazz Bell Awards for 2019:


Best Jazz Vocal album:

Josh Kyle – Trombone Song Cycle

Harriett Allcroft – Archie

Margie Lou Dyer – Old Digger’s Picnic


Best Instrumental Jazz album:

Sam Anning – Across A Field As Vast As One

Matt Jodrell – Echoes of Harlem

Barney McAll – Zephyrix (feat Monash Art Ensemble)


Best Produced album:

Barney McAll – Zephyrix (feat Monash Art Ensemble)

Sam Anning – Across A Field As Vast As One

Mat Jodrell – Echoes of Harlem


Best Australian Jazz Ensemble of the Year:

Andrea Keller – Five Below Live

Jonathan Zwartz – Animarum

Sam Anning – Across A Field As Vast As One


Young Jazz Artist of the Year:

Niran Dasika – Suzaku

Flora Carbo – Erica

Josh Bennier – To the Bone


Best Jazz Work of the Year:

Jonathan Zwartz – ‘Animarum’ (from Animarum)

Mat Jodrell – For My Folks (From Echoes of Harlem)

Sam Anning – ‘Sweethearts’ (from Across A Field As Vast As One)


Hall of Fame:

Sandy Evans


Posthumous Hall of Fame inductees:

Bryce Rohde

Horst Liepolt

Allan Zavod


There were also 4 individual artists who became the most recent inductees into the Graeme Bell Hall of Fame. One of these inductees, Sandy Evans, had this to say about her inclusion:

"I am honoured and humbled to be inducted into the Bell Awards Hall of Fame...My deepest thanks to the Bell Awards for bestowing this honour on me. Every musician I have worked with and continue to work with in the Australian jazz community deserves this Award, along with so many others who make our scene so vibrant and unique. I can only accept this award on behalf of all my colleagues and friends. I extend my deepest thanks to them for sharing the joy of music-making with me and constantly inspiring and teaching me about the infinite possibilities of our art-form."