DonateJoin NowLog In
music victoria logo

Music Victoria Awards Artist Line up + Channel 31 Partnership announced!

Alice Skye, Elizabeth, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever & Simona Castricum announced to perform at the 2020 Music Victoria Awards
+ partnerships announced with Channel 31, Auslan Stage Left & JMC Academy

Ahead of the 16th annual Music Victoria Awards this year, Music Victoria are pleased to reveal a killer lineup of acts set to grace our screens this December for the unique live-streamed event, which forms part of the Melbourne Music Week program, taking place on opening night. Announcing: beloved singer songwriter Alice Skye, dreamy Melbourne musician Elizabeth, acclaimed indie rock five-piece Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and the incredible synth-pop icon Simona Castricum. These artists will perform live from the Melbourne Recital Centre on Wednesday 9 December, to an intimate live audience of music industry professionals, and broadcast live to the public throughout Australia and the world.

Music Victoria would like to thank 2020 Awards Partners Channel 31 who will be broadcasting the event live on Australian TV and streaming worldwide via Music Victoria’s Youtube Channel. Industry supporters, Auslan Stage Left will be interpreting the event for our deaf community, and JMC Academy will provide students with access to valuable hands-on experience in event production, video editing, online content management and more, thanks to a brand new Education Partnership with the educational institution.

Co-presented by PBS 106.7FM and RRR 102.7FM, the annual Victorian music community love-in celebrates the best music of the year across 20 categories. Victorian artists have contributed immensely to yet another year of great music, despite the COVID-19 crisis. With voting now closed and verdicts currently being calculated for all public and industry-voted categories, the winners of the best Victorian acts, artists, musicians, songs and albums will once again be announced by long-time awards MC’s Lyndelle Wilkinson and Chris Gill on the night. Winners of the best Victorian venues, festival and producer have already been announced at the recent live-streamed Industry Awards event, along with the winner of the inaugural Outstanding Woman in Music Award. Congratulations again to the 2020 industry winners The Gasometer Hotel, Collingwood (Best Small Venue), Forum Melbourne (Best Large Venue), Barwon Club Hotel, Geelong (Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue - Over 50 gigs/yr), Theatre Royal, Castlemaine (Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue - Under 50 gigs/yr), Golden Plains (Best Festival), Joelistics (Best Producer) and Sarah Hamilton (Outstanding Woman in Music). The 2020 Music Victoria Hall of Fame Inductees, Mary Mihelakos and Chris Wilson will be officially inducted at the Music Victoria Awards event in December.

The 2020 Music Victoria Awards
Wednesday 9 December, 7.00pm-9.00pm
Melbourne Recital Centre (Elisabeth Murdoch Hall - Invite-only)
Performing live: Alice Skye, Elizabeth, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Simona Castricum
Members of the public can tune in to watch the event live-streamed as it happens here or on Channel 31

Subscribe to get a youtube reminder here


Best Album
Cable Ties – Far Enough
Elizabeth – the wonderful world of nature
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Sideways to New Italy
RVG – Feral
Sampa The Great – The Return

Best Band
Amyl and The Sniffers
Cable Ties
King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Best Song
Baker Boy – Move
Leah Senior – Evergreen
Mildlife – Rare Air
RVG – I Used To Love You
Sampa The Great – OMG

Best Solo Artist
Angie McMahon
Baker Boy
Courtney Barnett
Gordon Koang
Leah Senior
Sampa The Great
Simona Castricum
Sui Zhen

Best Musician
Amy Taylor (Amyl and The Sniffers)
Erica Dunn (Tropical Fuck Storm, Palm Springs, MOD CON)
Gareth Liddiard (Tropical Fuck Storm)
Gordon Koang
Jen Cloher (Dyson Stringer Cloher)
Romy Vager (RVG)
Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)
SilentJay (Sampa The Great, Mandarin Dreams)
Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard)
Tom Iansek (Big Scary, #1 Dads)

Best Breakthrough Act
Alice Skye
Grace Cummings
Nat Vazer
Pinch Points

Best Live Act
Amyl and The Sniffers
Cable Ties
Gordon Koang
Sampa The Great
The Teskey Brothers


Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
Benny Walker (Echuca)
Bones and Jones (Geelong)
Freya Josephine Hollick (Ballarat)
The Kite Machine (Geelong West)
The Teskey Brothers (Warrandyte)

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent
Alice Skye
The Merindas
River Boy

Best Blues Album
Aaron Pollock – Separated Through Time
Charlie Bedford – Good to Go
Joey Vincent’s Bakelite Radio – Rosary of Tears
*Lloyd Spiegel – Cut and Run
The Teskey Brothers – Live at The Forum

Best Country Album
The Cartwheels – Self-titled
Lost Ragas – This Is Not A Dream
Michael Waugh – The Weir
Mitch Dean – Holding Back the Levee
Tracy McNeil & The GoodLife – You Be The Lightning

Best Electronic Act
Simona Castricum
Sleep D

Best Experimental or Avant-garde Act
Bridget Chappell
James Rushford
Maria Moles
Natasha Anderson
Robin Fox

Best Folk Album
Charm of Finches – Your Company
Fiona Ross & Shane O'Mara – Sunwise Turn
Liz Frencham – Love and Other Crimes
Louisa Wise – All of These Things
Ruth Hazleton – Daisywheel

Best Heavy Album
Carcinoid – Metastatic Declination
Dead – Raving Drooling
Diploid – Glorify
Internal Rot – Grieving Birth
Sithlord – From Out of the Darkness

Best Hip Hop Act
Jordan Dennis
Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act
Amaru Tribe
Black Jesus Experience
Gelareh Pour's Garden
No Borders Music
Sampa The Great

Best Jazz Album
Andrea Keller – Life Is Brut[if]al
Horns of Leroy – Big Night
JK Group – The Young Ones
Vanessa Perica Orchestra – Love is a Temporary Madness
ZEDSIX – The Shape Of Jazz

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act
Dub FX
Jah Tung
Marvin Priest
Monkey Marc
The Push Reggae Band

Best Rock/Punk Album
Cable Ties – Far Enough
Nuada – Beneath the Swamp
Pseudo Mind Hive – Of Seers and Sirens
RVG – Feral
Shepparton Airplane – Sharks

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Karate Boogaloo – Carn The Boogers
Sampa The Great – The Return
Surprise Chef – All News Is Good News
The Teskey Brothers – Live at The Forum
Various Artists – Over Under Away Volume 1: 10 Years of Hopestreet Recordings



Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity) - The Gasometer Hotel, Collingwood
Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity) - Forum Melbourne
Best Festival - Golden Plains
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year) - Barwon Club Hotel Geelong
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year) - *Theatre Royal Castlemaine
Outstanding Woman In Music - Sarah Hamilton (One Of One)
Best Producer - Joelistics: Mo’Ju & Joelistics Ghost Town EP



Mary Mihelakos (industry)
Chris Wilson (musician)

Music Victoria thanks Major Partners Bendigo Bank, City of Melbourne, Creative Victoria and Melbourne Recital Centre for their ongoing support of the Music Victoria Awards.

*Music Victoria Board Member Tim Heath is a co-owner of Regional Venue winner Theatre Royal. *VMDO/Songlines staff member Neil Morris is nominated for his work under the performing name DRMNGNOW. Music Victoria Artist Advisory Panel member Lloyd Spiegel is nominated in the Best Blues Album category. These Awards are industry-voted by independent panels, and nominees are not involved in the voting process.